Nasarawa State Governor, Abdullahi Sule, has sworn-in 14 Commissioner-nominees who were recently screened and confirmed by the State House of Assembly, as members of the state executive council.

Speaking during the swearing in ceremony in Lafia on Wednesday, Governor Sule explained that the fourteen Commissioners where carefully selected from across the 13 LGAs of the state in order to get the best hands that would join him in taking Nasarawa to greater heights.

He said, “it is important to state that this administration cherishes hard work, dedication, commitment, loyalty and selfless service. I should, however, remind you all of my usual call that public service is public trust. You are, therefore, coming at a most trying time of this administration.

“This is because the people are yearning for more dividends of democracy and the administration is in the last lap of its first tenure. You must discharge your duties bearing in mind our principles of accountability, probity, loyalty and prudent management of public resources”.

While charging them to be accountable and transparent in discharging their duties, the Governor mentioned the names of the Commissioners to include, Yakubu Kwanta from Akwanga LGA, Yusuf Turaki from Awe LGA, Aishatu Ibrahim from Awe LGA, Salihu Enah from Doma LGA, Umar Gurku from Karu LGA.

Others are; Hannatu Abimiku from Lafia LGA, Nuhu Oshafu from Keana LGA, Idris Mohammed-Idris from Keffi LGA, Mohammed Sarki from Lafia LGA, Fatu Sabo from Nasarawa LGA, Yakubu Lawal from Nassarawa Eggon LGA, Daniel Agyeno from Obi LGA, Ahmed Baba-Yahaya from Toto LGA and Lucky Yargwa from Wamba LGA.

He commended the Speaker and members of the State Assembly for the accelerated screening and confirmation on the commissioner-nominees and promised to continue to collaborate with the legislative arm of government in order to ensure speedy growth and development of the state.

“I want to commend the Speaker and Members of the State Assembly for the accelerated screening and confirmation of the nominees. This is a demonstration of our collective commitment of providing purposeful leadership and delivery of service to our people.

“I salute this display of patriotism which has continued to define our relationship with the 6th Assembly since our assumption of office. I have no doubt that this synergy will be sustained as a reflection of our responsive and responsible representation of our people”, the Governor added.

Our Correspondent reports that, the fifteenth commissioner-nominee, Abdulkarim Kana, who is the Attorney General and Commissioner for Justice, was earlier excluded from the screening by the State Assembly because his appointment from the previous cabinet remained valid as he was not among those sacked by the Governor.

Copyright PUNCH.

All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from PUNCH.

Contact: [email protected]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *